People Living Off The Gov’t?

Ok. I’m writing here today to express my pure anger towards this topic. I am not a politician or I do not follow the economy closely but I can tell you this story that happened locally. To not expose anybodies names to the public I will make up names for them.

I really don’t now where to start off this story from so I will introduce the people in the story. We have two parents, we can refer to them as John and Kate. We also John and Kate’s children, Jake and Rachel. Now John and Kate own a dry cleaner store a couple towns away from me. From my knowledge it was a pretty successful business. With Rachel out of high school (maybe even college now) and Jake in high school they were on a good path for success. Until this…

Remember how I said the dry cleaning business was going pretty well for John and Kate? Well apparently John decided to quit his job. Though I do not personally know John I have heard from close friends of his that he quit out of pure laziness to work. After John quit his job, a couple of weeks later Kate quit her job because she questioned John quiting his job. With both of them out of jobs, they don’t even bother looking for another job. A close friend of John and Kate said that they are just too lazy to find new jobs.

This brings me to my next point, Jake and Rachel. Rachel is successful by balancing out her life and work. Now she does not have a top of the line job, but does work at a clothing outlet store. This earns her enough money to pay for her college education. Jake on the other hand is in high school and from what I have heard and seen is that he has resorted to drugs and alcohol. I do not know the reason for him doing this but if I had to give it an educated guess it was his lack of ability to cope with something in his life. Now before you say I have not seen him do drugs or alcohol, I actually have seen him smoke and drink in various parts of the neighborhood.

My next point will actually bring me to the government part of this. John and Kate now recieve money from the government to help them pay for basic things. The thing that truely pisses me off is that they make no attempt to help their child with drug problems (yes, they do know) or make no attempt to find new jobs. Since Jake has no job, the only way he gets money is trough his parents extra money. Now John and Kate have been living off the government for awhile now. And this got me thinking… Why should people in the community pay taxes that essentially go straight to the government and then from the government go to John and Kate, two people who are basically leeching off of tax dollars who make no attempt to help reform their lives. Another thing is that these people are immigrants to the United States and they came here to help start a new life. Now they use the community around them to pay for their basic needs.

People around the community have tried to help them. Close friends of John and Kate have offered them jobs, donated them money, and even donated them basic essentials like soap or shampoo to help them get back on the right path. All the attempts to help these people out have failed. They refuse to get jobs but always accept the free items.

Personally I have had enough of this crap. It has almost been six months of them living off of the tax dollars of the community. I don’t think the government realizes that these people are leeching off them. Now I do not wish the family harm, I just wish that these people, who came to America looking for opportunity, stop living off other people in the community and try to contribute to the local area and not drag everyone else down with them. What has come to America when people are quitting their jobs out of laziness and trying to live off of other people? This is the main question I ask and I feel that something must be done about this issue.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment